Visiting the Hartbergerland region

Welcome to the Land of Senses

It’s not the loud, shrill sounds that can be heard in Eastern Styria’s Hartbergerland, but the gentle chords that warm the heart. With sights that take your breath away and smells and tastes from a land of milk and honey, time ticks to a soothing beat here. Your passionate hosts bid you a warm welcome.

Nature
Look forward to enjoyment with a view. Hartbergerland lies within the Eastern Styrian hill country, where the southern alpine foreland meets the gently rolling hills. Rich in landscapes that spoil the eye, this is a region that can be conquered on foot or by bike, with panoramic views included.

Culture
Enjoy the magic of the moment. Hartbergerland boasts a wealth of cultural treasures, with historical traces leading as far back as the Neolithic Age, followed by Celtic and Roman settlements. Sacred places, nestled in the beautiful countryside, invite you to stop and rest.

Cuisine
Treat yourself to a piece of paradise. Rich in fertile land and culinary delights, family-run farms and winegrowers guarantee that everything is sourced locally. And artisans and innkeepers always add a heartfelt, creative touch.

Discover Hartbergerland

Bike
Cycle tours with the pleasure factor await you here. Choose the route that takes your fancy on Hartbergerland’s bike map. Roll through delightful garden landscapes and change gear to a slower pace.

Hiking
Walking and hiking. Getting to know forests, streams and gardens step by step gives new strength and cleanses the soul. Enjoy nature on foot and don’t forget to stop forget to stop for breaks. This has to be the nicest way to experience Hartbergerland in the Garden of Austria.
 
In the Garden of Austria
This is where the love of nature is at home. In the garden studio, lingering at an intimate outdoor table, sampling the products in a farm shop or stopping at a tavern along the Austrian Roman Wine Road.
 
Culture in town and country
Past meets present. The region’s history spans from the Celts on the Ringkogel to following in the footsteps of the Romans on the Roman Wine Road and along the Castle Road. A series of events includes literary garden experiences and summer evening concerts in the castle courtyard, as well as festivals throughout the year that promise to get you celebrating with all of the senses. Hartbergerland’s Advent Market is also well worth a visit.

Hartberg – the first Styrian Cittaslow

A town through the course of time

Since 2009, Hartberg has been one of three Austrian towns with the international Cittaslow label - an award for towns that place an emphasis on cultural heritage, regional produce and sustainable technology. And since 2020 it has belonged to Austria’s 16 Small Historic Towns. Explore a cultural-historical jewel, surrounded by natural beauty.

Boasting one of Styria’s best-kept old towns, the district capital is seen as one of Eastern Styria’s most appealing urban destinations. The charming historical centre lies right where the southern alpine foreland meets the gently rolling East Styrian hills, framed by partially protected landscapes that call to be explored. The Brühl nature reserve leads up to the town’s iconic Ringwarte. To the south, paths wind their way past ponds into the Hartberger Gmoos Natura 2000 reserve, home to around 130 types of bird. A string of parks - some of which sit against the old town wall - provide respite along the way.

History at every turn

And that’s no surprise, as the area surrounding the town has been populated for almost 3,000 years. Those who walk through the narrow alleyways and past the fortified town wall feel like they are being taken back into the past. The town’s historical sights and monuments paint a picture from the Romans right up to the 19th century, when long-term mayor Josef Reßavar (1873 - 1904) gave the medieval town a new direction.

In the Middle Ages, Hartberg was a place where nobility met and the first Styrian capital. Nowadays, the town is a hub for culture lovers. By continually re-inventing itself, an appreciation of modern architecture has arisen. In line with this, "breathing sunshades" invite you to take a seat by the town’s fountain from May 2020 and enjoy the unique ambience of the main square. Have a wonderful time in this vivacious town.

Tips from the locals

Not to be missed when in Hartberg!

Loretto Chapel
The Loretto Chapel is a well-visited place of pilgrimage for the Black Madonna in Mitterberg, St.Johann in der Haide. Her colour can be traced back to the ancient goddesses as possible predecessors to the Black Madonna. It has been proven that the Black Goddess was introduced by ancient cults. Fertility, mother and earth goddesses have been worshipped for centuries, some of which were black.

Posch Mill
It’s great fun, making "Heidensterz" (buckwheat mush) in the Posch Mill. Already in its third generation, the mill still produces high-quality grain products using traditional methods. The almost 500 year old mill is not a museum, but a working site, which grinds, sieves, processes and sells every day. Here you will learn the art of making "Heidensterz" the Styrian way: by heating the buckwheat flour until a nutty note evolves, adding water and stirring until the mixture simmers. Melt butter, add the flour mixture and fry until it becomes crumbly.  Stir in parmesan and serve warm with a rocket salad.

Vinothek Pusswald
Travel around the world in Hannes Pusswald’s vinothek. Around the world in 40 days? Wrong! Explore the entire world right from the vinothek with a selection of wines from all corners and an expert wine tasting led by sommelier Hannes Pusswald. There has been a language to describe the quality of wine since ancient times, although assessment used to draw on the individual’s imagination or discretion. Nowadays, we adhere to tasting guidelines and use words such as floral, earthy, full-bodied, grassy, complex, round, velvety and spicy. Safe travels!

Contact

Hartbergerland, Alleegasse 6,8230 Hartberg,
T: +43 3332 603300, tourismus (at) hartbergerland. at, www.hartbergerland.at

X

Zu Gast im Hartbergerland

Willkommen im Land der Sinne

Im Hartbergland  in der Oststeiermark sind nicht die lauten und schrillen Töne zu hören, hier klingen die zarten Saiten, die das Herz erwärmen. Beim Schauen und Sehen kommt man ins Staunen, beim Riechen und Schmecken meint man sich im Schlaraffenland. Und man spürt, die Zeit schlägt im wohltuenden Takt. Wir, die leidenschaftlichen Gastgeber, begrüßen Sie herzlichst.

Natur
Freuen Sie sich auf Genuss mit Aussicht. Das Hartbergerland liegt im Oststeirischen Hügelland, dort wo sich das südliche Alpenvorland mit dem sanft gewellten Hügelland verbindet. Reich an Landschaftsbildern, die das Auge verwöhnen, lässt sich die Region per Rad oder zu Fuß erobern, panoramareiche Aussichten inklusive.  

Kultur
Genießen Sie den Zauber des Augenblicks. Das Hartbergland ist reich an kulturellen Schätzen. Bereits in der Jungsteinzeit, und dann von Kelten und Römern besiedelt, führen historische Spuren zu den Wurzeln. Sakrale Kostbarkeiten, eingebettet in die Schönheit der Landschaft, laden zum Innehalten und Verweilen ein.

Kulinarik
Gönnen Sie sich ein Stück vom Paradies. Reich an fruchtbarem Land und kulinarischen Köstlichkeiten garantieren familiengeführte Bauernhöfe und Weinbauern regionalen Ursprung. Genuss-handwerker und Gastwirte veredeln mit kreativer Note und verführen mit Herz.

Erleben Sie das Hartbergerland

Rad
Vom Glück auf zwei Rädern. Rad-Touren mit Genuss-Faktor erwarten Sie.  Wählen Sie nach eigenem Gusto aus der Rad-Karte des Hartbergerlandes. Sanft rollt man durch liebliche Gartenlandschaften und schaltet den Gang um auf Entschleunigung.

Wandern
Spazieren & Wandern. Wälder, Bäche und Gärten Schritt für Schritt entdecken, gibt neue Kraft und reinigt die Seele. Zu Fuß unterwegs, die Natur genießen, gemütlich einkehren – das ist die wohl schönste Form das Hartbergerland mittendrin im Garten Österreichs zu erleben.
 
Im Garten Österreichs
Wo die Liebe zur Natur zu Hause ist. Im Gartenatelier, beim Verweilen an lauschigen Plätzen im Gastgarten, beim Verkosten im Ab-Hof-Laden und beim Einkehren im Buschenschank an der Oststeirischen Römerweinstraße.  

Kultur in Stadt und Land
Vergangenheit trifft Gegenwart. Von den Kelten am Ringkogel, auf den Spuren der Römer auf der Römerweinstraße und entlang der Schlösserstraße spannt sich der historische  Reigen. Literarische Gartenerlebnisse und sommerliche Konzertabend im Schlosshof bietet die Veranstaltungsreihe Kulturgenuss im Grünen, Bei den Festen, die durchs Jahr führen, sind alle Sinne in Feierlaune. Besuchen Sie den Adventzauber im Hartbergerland

Hartberg - die erste steirische Città Slow

Eine Stadt im Wandel der Zeit

Hartberg ist seit 2009 als eine von drei Städten in Österreich mit dem internationalen Città-Slow-Siegel ausgezeichnet - eine Auszeichnung für Städte, die ihr Augenmerk auf das kulturelle Erbe, regionale Produkte und nachhaltige Technologie legen. Seit 2020 zählt Hartberg zu den 16 Kleinen Historischen Städten Österreichs. Erkunden Sie ein kulturhistorisches Juwel, umrahmt von Naturschönheiten.

Mit einer der besterhaltenen Altstädte der Steiermark zählt die Bezirksstadt zu den reizvollsten Städtezielen der Oststeiermark. Exakt am Übergang vom südlichen Alpenvorland zum sanft gewellten Oststeirischen Hügelland liegt das charmante historische Zentrum, eingerahmt von teils geschützten Naturlandschaften, die zum sinnesfreudigen Flanieren und Wandern einladen. Über das Naturschutzgebiet der Brühl geht's hoch auf die Ringwarte, dem Wahrzeichen der Stadt. Am südlichen Stadtrand führen Spazierwege vorbei an Teichlandschaften ins Hartberger Gmoos Natura 2000 Schutzgebiet, wo an die 130 Vogelarten Heimat finden. Ein Gürtel naturnaher, teilweise an die alte Stadtmauer gelehnter Parkanlagen bietet schattenspendende Wege und kühle Plätze zum Verweilen.
 

Geschichte auf Schritt und Tritt

Kein Wunder: Die Gegend rund um die Stadt ist seit fast 3000 Jahren besiedelt. Wer durch die engen Gassen und vorbei an wehrhaften Stadtmauern spaziert, fühlt sich in die Vergangenheit getragen. Die historischen Sehenswürdigkeiten und Denkmale der Stadt spannen einen Bogen von den Römern bis ins 19. Jahrhundert, in jene Epoche als Langzeitbürgermeister Josef Reßavar (1873 - 1904) der mittelalterlichen Stadt ein neues Gepräge verlieh.

Im Mittelalter war Hartberg Versammlungsort des Adels und erste Hauptstadt in der steirischen Mark, heute ist die Stadt Treffpunkt für Kulturbegeisterte. Im sich immer wieder neu erfinden, legt man Wert auf zeitgemäße Architektur. Aktuell ab Mai 2020: „Atmende Sonnenschirme“ am Stadtbrunnen laden ein Platz zu nehmen und das einzigartige Ambiente am Hauptplatz zu genießen. Haben Sie eine schöne Zeit in unserer lebenswerten Stadt.

Insidertipps

Das müssen Sie in Hartberg erlebt haben!

Lorettokapelle
Die Lorettokapelle ist eine gern besuchte Pilgerstätte zur „Schwarzen Madonna“in Mitterberg, St.Johann in der Haide. Die schwarze Farbe führt man zurück auf die antiken schwarzen Göttinnen, als mögliche Vorläuferinnen der Schwarzen Madonna. Erwiesen ist, dass der Typus der Schwarzen Göttin vielen antiken Kulten zugrunde lag. Seit Jahrtausenden wurden Fruchtbarkeits-, Mutter- und Erdgöttinnen verehrt, die in manchen Fällen schwarz waren.

POSCH Mühle
Es ist ein Heidenspaßdas Heidensterz kochen in der POSCH Mühle. Nach handwerklicher Tradition produziert man in der POSCH Mühle bereits in dritter Generation ihre hochwertigen Getreideprodukte. Die beinahe 500 Jahre alte Mühle ist kein Museum, sondern nach wie vor ein Produktionsbetrieb, in dem täglich gemahlen, gesiebt, weiter verarbeitet und verkauft wird. Von der Kunst des Sterz-Kochens nach „steirischem Brauch“: Buchweizenmehl erwärmen bis sich ein nussiger Duft entfaltet, Wasser dazugeben und rühren bis der Sterz bröckelt. Butter schmelzen, Sterz beimengen und rösten bis dieser bröselig wird. Parmesan unterrühren und noch warm mit Rucola-Salat servieren.

Kontakt: www.poschmuehle.at

Vinothek Pusswald
Eine Reise um die Welt in der Vinothek von Hannes Pusswald. In 40 Tagen um die Welt? Weitgefehlt!  Bereisen Sie die Welt in der Vinothek, gut sortiert mit Weinen aus aller Welt, bei einer Weinverkostung unter fachkundiger Führung mit dem Sommelier Hannes Pusswald. Eine Sprache für die Beschreibung der Weinqualität gibt es bereits seit der Antike.  Die Beurteilung war zu jener Zeit noch der Phantasie bzw. dem Gutdünken des Einzelnen überlassen. Heute hält man sich an Verkostungs-Regeln und verwendet Ausdrücke wie blumig, erdig, füllig, körperreich, grasig, komplex, robust, rund, samtig, würzig. Reisen Sie gut!

Kontakt: www.restaurant-pusswald.at

 

Kontakt

Hartbergerland, Alleegasse 6,8230 Hartberg,
T: +43 3332 603300, tourismus (at) hartbergerland. at, www.hartbergerland.at

X